Oh, I do like to be beside the seaside…

EastbourneThey just don’t make tourism posters like they use to. I stumbled across a bit of a find in my local tourist office – some lovely reproductions of old Eastbourne seaside posters for a mere £1.50. My plan is to collect a few and frame them for when I move into my next place. These illustrated posters make great artwork and maybe it’s all the sunshine but I’m enjoying the seaside theme at the moment.

As you can imagine I especially loved Coast magazine’s recent charity auction. The magazine commissioned contemporary artists to make their own version of these classic posters. The posters were auctioned off on Ebay to raise money for the Marine Conservation Society. I especially loved Barbara Hulanicki’s striking Brighton poster, but my favourite is Rob Ryan‘s Rye poster. I’ve always love Rob Ryan’s work and how weaves a story into everything he does.

Barbara Hulanicki Brighton poster

Rob Ryan Rye poster

Images courtesy of Coast magazine.

This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

